University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
CSE was formerly known as the Council of Biology Editors (CBE). It has three citation systems: 1) citation–sequence; 2) name–year; and 3) citation–name.
We have a copy of the 8th edition edition of the CSE Manual. It is for reference use within the library.
We have included the same examples in all four systems so you can see the differences between them. Because the CSE system is strongly associated with scientific fields, it is unlikely you will ever have the opportunity to cite Operetta: A Theatrical History or the Masterworks Broadway blog in a paper that requires CSE.
Book
Because the primary difference between the Citation-Name and Citation-Sequence systems is the way references are put in order and numbered, we have included two books in these examples.
In this example, we're citing 1) a quotation from page 112 of the book Operetta: A Theatrical History, written by Richard Traubner and published in 1983 by Doubleday, a publishing house based in Garden City, New York; 2) some information about the dream ballet in Oklahoma on page 33 of the book Rodgers and Hammerstein, written by Ethen Mordden and published in 1992 by Harry N. Abrams, Inc., a publishing house based in New York City, NY.
Citation-Name
In the Citation-Name system, first put all your references in alphabetical order in the bibliography and number them. Then use those numbers in your paper each time you cite a reference. In our example, Mordden comes before Traubner alphabetically, so Mordden is 1 and Traubner is 2 in the Bibliography. Then in the in-text citations, we use the number 1 every time we cite Mordden and the number 2 every time we cite Traubner.
In-text citation:
Strauss’s operettas rely on the inherent romanticism and theatricality of the waltz; one author notes, “There is more ‘drama’ in a Strauss operetta waltz than in the vast majority of French or Viennese couplets.”2 On mid-20th century Broadway, it was not waltz but ballet that expanded the musical drama through dance. In Rogers and Hammerstein's Oklahoma,the dream ballet choreographed by Agnes De Mille dramatized the heroine's internal conflict.1
Bibliography:
1. Mordden E. 1992. Rodgers and Hammerstein. New York (NY): Harry N. Abrams, Inc.
2. Traubner R. 1983. Operetta: A Theatrical History. Garden City (NY): Doubleday.
Citation-Sequence
In the Citation-Sequence system, you start with the in-text citations. Go through your paper from beginning to end. The first source you cite is 1. Every time you cite it again in the paper, use 1. The second source you cite is 2. Keep going until you reach the end of your paper. Then make your bibliography in numerical order (the first source you cited is 1, the second it 2, etc.). In our example, we cite Traubner first and then Mordden, so Traubner is 1 and Mordden is 2 in the Bibliography.
In-text citation:
Strauss’s operettas rely on the inherent romanticism and theatricality of the waltz; one author notes, “There is more ‘drama’ in a Strauss operetta waltz than in the vast majority of French or Viennese couplets.”1 On mid-20th century Broadway, it was not waltz but ballet that expanded the musical drama through dance. In Rogers and Hammerstein's Oklahoma,the dream ballet choreographed by Agnes De Mille dramatized the heroine's internal conflict.2
Bibliography:
1. Traubner R. 1983. Operetta: A Theatrical History. Garden City (NY): Doubleday.
2. Mordden E. 1992. Rodgers and Hammerstein. New York (NY): Harry N. Abrams, Inc.
Name-Year
In-text citation:
Strauss’s operettas rely on the inherent romanticism and theatricality of the waltz; one author notes, “There is more ‘drama’ in a Strauss operetta waltz than in the vast majority of French or Viennese couplets” (Traubner 1983).
Bibliography:
Traubner R. 1983. Operetta: A Theatrical History. Garden City (NY): Doubleday.
________________________________________________________________________________
Article
In this example, we're citing information paraphrased from page 859 of the article "Seasonal adaptations of the fall webworm Hyphantria cunea (Drury) (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae) following its invasion of Japan,” which was written by Tadashi Gomi. The article was published in 2007 in volume 22, issue 6 of the journal Ecological Research, and it appeared on pages 855-861. This an article we found online, and its DOI (document object identifier) is 10.1007/s11284-006-0327-y.
Name-Year
In-text citation:
In southwestern parts of Japan, Hyphantria cunea, the fall webworm, has a trivoltine life cycle, most likely due to warmer temperatures in that part of the country (Gomi 2007).
Bibliography:
Gomi, T. 2007. Seasonal adaptations of the fall webworm Hyphantria cunea (Drury) (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae) following its invasion of Japan. Ecological Research 22(6): 855-61. doi: 10.1007/s11284-006-0327-y.
________________________________________________________________________________
Blog
In this example, we're citing an entry in Peter Filichia's blog on the Masterworks Broadway website. The blog entry is titled "The Reviews are in for Bajour" and was published on March 4, 2014. The URL for the entry is http://www.masterworksbroadway.com/blog/the-reviews-are-in-for-bajour/. According to the page footer, the site's copyright is held by Sony Music Entertainment. We accessed the blog entry on November 11, 2016.
Name-Year
In-text Citation:
Steven Suskin omitted the 1964 musical Bajour from his collocation of Broadway reviews, Opening Nights on Broadway, because he did not think that any of Bajour's reviews were interesting (Filichia 2014).
Bibliography:
Filichia, P. 2014 Mar 4. The Reviews are in for Bajour [blog]. Masterworks Broadway. [Accessed 2016 Nov 11]. http://www.masterworksbroadway.com/blog/the-reviews-are-in-for-bajour/.
