Skip to main content
University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
[Former President Theodore Roosevelt Delivering a Speech from a Train], April 24, 1912, Burlington, New Jersey. Photo from Southern Methodist University's Doris A. and Lawrence H. Budner Theodore Roosevelt Photograph Collection.
This is a guide to sociology resources, including reference works, online databases and journals, and books available at Nash Library.
This guide is organized in tabs according to source type. The References tab includes links to print and online reference sources. The Journal Articles tab includes links to databases and academic journals. The Books tab explains how to find sociology materials in the library using call numbers and subject headings. The Demographics and Statistics Online page includes links to free government-maintained statistical resources.
Using Library Search Tools
This is a quick introduction to the library's search tools. They are always located in the dark green ribbon at the top of library pages.
LEO Search simultaneously searches the library catalog and many databases, retrieving many results. On the library homepage, there is a special LEO Search Box that finds ONLY academic articles. The regular LEO Search will find academic articles, popular articles, books, videos, images, and more.
The Library Catalog includes books, ebooks, DVDs, music materials, journal titles, and archival materials in Nash Library. There is a Library Catalog search box on the library homepage.
This is an A-to-Z list of all databases and other online collections, including ebook and reference collections and Naxos Music Library.
Search through our electronic journals by title or subject.
This page includes research guides that have been created for various purposes. There are Subject Guides for all of the majors offered at USAO, Course Guides with information relevant to specific courses, and otherwise unclassified guides.
This is a worldwide catalog shared by thousands of libraries. You can use it to find materials at other libraries, and then you may request them through interlibrary loan.
Electronic Resources Librarian
EBSCO, one of our electronic resources vendors, put together these research infographics. View them all here or select the one you need from the list below.
FREE Open Access Sources
An unlock symbol next to a title means that it is freely accessible on the web without a subscription. You do not have to be logged in to the library systems to use it. We often call these "open access" sources.