University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
References sources are useful for getting a general overview of a topic. They do not formulate new ideas or interpretations; rather, they summarize existing knowledge and scholarly research, and their entries often include citations to the sources used to compile them.
A reference source is generally not something you will use as a cited source in a research paper. However, it can be a good starting point for your research on a topic because you can gain a background understanding of current knowledge and theory about that subject, and the citations can lead you to good secondary sources and related works.
These are ebooks accessible via Nash Library's subscriptions. If you are connected to the internet on-campus, you are already logged in to all of Nash Library's databases and journals. If you are off-campus, you will have to log in using your USAO credentials.
Native Americans: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Peoples by There are many books in Nash Library relevant to American Indian Studies; the following are a few recommended general reference works. Reference books are marked with red stickers on their spines. They do not circulate; you must use them in the library. Click on a book's title to go to its catalog record.
American Indian Law in a Nutshell, 5th by 
Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America by 
A Broken Flute: The Native Experience in Books for Children by 
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume by 
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature by 
Native North American Almanac by 
Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia by 
Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary by 
Native American Food Plants: An Ethnobotanical Dictionary by 
The Praeger Handbook on Contemporary Issues in Native America by 
St. James Guide to Native North American Artists by In almost all cases, Wikipedia is not acceptable as a source in academic research. Anyone can add or revise Wikipedia content, and that content may be incorrect, incomplete, or biased. The only people overseeing the quality of the content are other Wikipedia users.
In contrast, the reference sources here are by academic publishing companies, and the entries have been written and edited by experts.
Wikipedia can be useful for getting a quick overview of a well-studied, non-controversial topic. Then, with that background established, you can proceed to scholarly sources. Be wary of articles on obscure or controversial topics, as they are more likely to be biased or to be the work of a limited number of people.
