LEO: Public Policy Fall 2015: Assignment #2

Print Reference Books

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by Leonard W. Levy (Editor); Kenneth L. Karst (Editor); Dennis J. Mahoney (Editor)
Call Number: KF4548.E53 1986
ISBN: 0029186102
Publication Date: 1986
Alphabetically organized by topic--try looking up "Citizenship" and "Fourteenth Amendment."

Reference books can be used in the library but cannot be checked out.

Ebook Reference

Dictionary of American History by Stanley I. Kutler (Ed.)
ISBN: 9780684805337
Publication Date: 2002

Reference eBooks are free to all USAO students--on campus, you are automatically connected; off-campus, log in with your ID and password.

Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by John R. Vile
ISBN: 9781598843170
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Alphabetically organized--try looking up "Citizenship, Definition of," and "Fourteenth Amendment." The publisher is migrating between platforms, so it may take some clicking to get to the actual text.
The Making of Modern Immigration: An Encyclopedia of People and Ideas by Patrick J. Hayes
ISBN: 9780313392030
Publication Date: 2012
Illegal Immigration: A Reference Handbook by Michael C. LeMay
ISBN: 9781598840391
Publication Date: 2006
The publisher is migrating between platforms, so it may take some clicking to get to the actual text.
U. S. Immigration: A Reference Handbook by Michael C. LeMay
ISBN: 9781851095438
Publication Date: 2003
The publisher is migrating between platforms, so it may take some clicking to get to the actual text.

Assignment #2

P032409PS-1060. President Obama goes over notes in the Red Room of the White House prior to a live prime time press conference in the East Room, March 24, 2009. Official White House Photo by Pete Souza.

For this assignment, you will be writing a memo addressing federal policy dealing with illegal immigration, the 14th Amendment, and citizenship status.

In this guide, a variety of sources are recommended; some are older books that provide historical information, while others are websites with information about recent policy decisions. Be aware of the currency of the sources you use and of their authors' affiliations and opinions, as illegal immigration is a continually developing, controversial issue. Critically evaluate what you read and determine whether it based in fact or opinion, and remember that anecdotes are not data.

When you use an online search tool (like the Library Catalog or LEO Search) or a print or online reference book, it is important to think of good key words to search for or look up in the index. Identifying the most important terms in the assignment prompt will often give you a good idea of where to start; in this case, try searching for terms like illegal immigration, 14th amendment, and citizenship.

The 14th Amendment

Since your memo will discuss the 14th amendment and citizenship status, it is important that you know what the 14th Amendment actually says and how it has been interpreted.

Library of Congress: 14th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
The Library of Congress brings together digital versions of original historical documents dealing with the 14th Amendment, including Congressional records, legal cases, newspapers reporting its passage, and other sources.
Law Library of Congress: 14th Amendment and Citizenship
This is a short summary of the rationale behind the passage of the 14th Amendment and its impact on citizenship.
Constitution Annotated: 14th Amendment
This is an very detailed legal analysis and interpretation of the 14th Amendment and its impact on various areas of law. It is based on decisions made in Supreme Court cases through July 1, 2014. Do not think you have to read the whole annotation.

Citizenship

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
This is the division of the Department of Homeland Security that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. Though your memo is primarily concerned with illegal immigration, it may be helpful for you to learn what the current legal channels for immigration are.
Department of Homeland Security: Fixing Our Broken Immigration System Through Executive Action - Key Facts
This is a summary of recent actions taken by the Department of Homeland Security, under the authorization of the Executive Branch (President Obama), to address illegal immigration. You can use this to learn about current illegal immigration policy, but remember that this assignment is to make the best recommendations based on the facts, not just to tell the President what you think he wants to hear.
White House: Fixing the System
This page explains, primarily through videos, how former President Barack Obama addressed illegal immigration. Again, you can use this to learn about current illegal immigration policy, but remember that this assignment is to make the best recommendations based on the facts.
Department of Homeland Security--Publications
The Department of Homeland Security publishes many reports, including reports with illegal immigration and deportation statistics.

Finding Print Books & eBooks

To find print books at Nash Library and eBooks available online, you can search the Nash Library Catalog, which contains all the books and physical materials in Nash Library and most of the ebooks.

Finding Academic Articles & Books in LEO Search

You can find academic articles using LEO Search, which is like a search engine for library sources.

LEO Search is in the top ribbon of every library page, and it is also the big search box on the library website. Enter your search terms into the box and click search.

Some of the articles and books in the results are in Nash Library's collection. For articles, you will see links either to the full PDF or HTML or to Linksource, which will connect you to the article on another platform. For print books, you will see a call number showing where you can find the book in Nash Library.

Other books and articles are available through interlibrary Loan (ILL). Use the Interlibrary Loan link to request them. We can get ILL articles within a day or two and ILL books within a couple weeks.

You can use the checkboxes on the left side of the results screen to narrow your results. Click "Full Text Online" to limit your search to only articles and ebooks you can instantly read online.