University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
The Chicago Manual of Style, published by the University of Chicago, is often used by writers in history, arts, and humanities fields. Turabian style is a simplified form of Chicago Style.
Chicago/Turabian style has two citation systems: 1) Notes-Bibliography; 2) Author-Date.
If you want a detailed explanation of Chicago style with many examples, use the print guide in the library. This is a reference book, which means it can only be used in the library. Like all reference books, it is marked with a red sticker on its spine.
Book
In this example, we're citing a quotation from page 112 of the book Operetta: A Theatrical History, written by Richard Traubner and published in 1983 by Doubleday, a publishing house based in Garden City, New York.
Notes-Bibliography
In-text citation:
Traubner notes, “There is more ‘drama’ in a Strauss operetta waltz than in the vast majority of French or Viennese couplets.”1
Note at bottom of page:
1. Richard Traubner, Operetta: A Theatrical History (Garden City, New York: Doubleday, 1983), 112.
Bibliography:
Traubner, Richard. Operetta: A Theatrical History. Garden City, New York: Doubleday, 1983.
Author-Date
In-text citation:
If you mention the author by name in the text, you don't have to include the author's name in the citation:
Traubner notes, “There is more ‘drama’ in a Strauss operetta waltz than in the vast majority of French or Viennese couplets” (1983, 112).
If you do not mention the author by name in the text, you must include the author's name in the citation:
Strauss’s operettas rely on the inherent romanticism and theatricality of the waltz; one author notes, “There is more ‘drama’ in a Strauss operetta waltz than in the vast majority of French or Viennese couplets” (Traubner, 1983, 112).
Bibliography:
Traubner, Richard. 1983. Operetta: A Theatrical History. Garden City, New York: Doubleday.
________________________________________________________________________________
Article
In this example, we're citing information paraphrased from page 859 of the article "Seasonal adaptations of the fall webworm Hyphantria cunea (Drury) (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae) following its invasion of Japan,” which was written by Tadashi Gomi. The article was published in 2007 in volume 22, issue 6 of the journal Ecological Research, and it appeared on pages 855-861. This an article we found online, and its DOI (document object identifier) is 10.1007/s11284-006-0327-y.
Notes-Bibliography
In-text citation:
In southwestern parts of Japan, Hyphantria cunea, the fall webworm, has a trivoltine life cycle, most likely due to warmer temperatures in that part of the country.2
Note at bottom of page:
2. Tadashi Gomi, “Seasonal adaptations of the fall webworm Hyphantria cunea (Drury) (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae) following its invasion of Japan,” Ecological Research 22, no. 6 (2007): 859, doi: 10.1007/s11284-006-0327-y.
Bibliography:
Gomi, Tadashi. “Seasonal adaptations of the fall webworm Hyphantria cunea (Drury) (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae) following its invasion of Japan.” Ecological Research 22, no. 6 (2007): 855-61. doi: 10.1007/s11284-006-0327-y.
Author-Date
In-text citation:
If you mention the author by name in the text, you don't have to include the author's name in the citation:
Gomi states that the trivoltine life cycle exhibited by Hyphantria cunea in southwestern Japan is most likely due to warmer temperatures in that part of the country (2007, 859).
If you do not mention the author by name in the text, you must include the author's name in the citation:
In southwestern parts of Japan, Hyphantria cunea, the fall webworm, has a trivoltine life cycle, most likely due to warmer temperatures in that part of the country (Gomi, 2007, 859).
Bibliography:
Gomi, Tadashi. 2007. “Seasonal adaptations of the fall webworm Hyphantria cunea (Drury) (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae) following its invasion of Japan.” Ecological Research 22 (6): 855-61. doi: 10.1007/s11284-006-0327-y.
________________________________________________________________________________
Blog
In this example, we're citing an entry in Peter Filichia's blog on the Masterworks Broadway website. The blog entry is titled "The Reviews are in for Bajour" and was published on March 4, 2014. The URL for the entry is http://www.masterworksbroadway.com/blog/the-reviews-are-in-for-bajour/. According to the page footer, the site's copyright is held by Sony Music Entertainment.
Notes-Bibliography
In-text Citation:
Steven Suskin omitted the 1964 musical Bajour from his collocation of Broadway reviews, Opening Nights on Broadway, because he did not think that any of Bajour's reviews were interesting.3
Note at bottom of page:
3. Peter Filichia, “The Reviews are in for Bajour,” Masterworks Broadway (blog), March 4, 2014, http://www.masterworksbroadway.com/blog/the-reviews-are-in-for-bajour/.
Bibliography (optional unless you cite the blog frequently in your paper):
Filichia, Peter. Masterworks Broadway (blog). http://www.masterworksbroadway.com/category/blog/
Author-Date
In-text Citation:
If you mention the author by name in the text, you don't have to include the author's name in the citation:
Filichia states that when he asked Steven Suskin why he omitted the 1964 musical Bajour from his collocation of Broadway reviews, Opening Nights on Broadway, Suskin replied that he did not think that any of Bajour's reviews were interesting (2014).
If you do not mention the author by name in the text, you must include the author's name in the citation:
Steven Suskin omitted the 1964 musical Bajour from his collocation of Broadway reviews, Opening Nights on Broadway, because he did not think that any of Bajour's reviews were interesting (Filichia, 2014).
Bibliography:
Filichia, Peter. 2014. “The Reviews are in for Bajour,” Masterworks Broadway (blog), March 4. http://www.masterworksbroadway.com/blog/the-reviews-are-in-for-bajour/.
________________________________________________________________________________
Website
According to the Chicago Manual of Style, citing websites requires editorial discretion. This is because websites and webpages often do not include many of the traditional elements included citations, like authors and dates of creation. If you need to cite an online article, book, or other web item with a clear print parallel, look at the instructions for books, articles, and blogs, not this section.
This section is only for cases when you are citing a plain website with no obvious print parallel.
In this example, we're citing the page for the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve on the Nature Conservancy website.The page's URL is http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/oklahoma/placesweprotect/tallgrass-prairie-preserve.xml. The page doesn't name its author or its date of creation. We are going to be sure to include the date we accessed the page (November 17, 2016).
No formal citation--just including necessary information in text (acceptable for websites)
As of November 17, 2016, the Nature Conservancy's webpage for the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve explains that the Conservancy uses the"patch-burn" technique to manage the Preserve's rangeland.
Notes-Bibliography
In-text Citation:
The Nature Conservancy uses the "patch-burn" technique to manage the rangeland on the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve.4
Note at bottom of page:
4. “Oklahoma: Joseph H. Williams Tallgrass Prairie Preserve,” The Nature Conservancy, accessed November 17, 2016, http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/oklahoma/placesweprotect/tallgrass-prairie-preserve.xml.
Bibliography (unnecessary unless you are not including notes in your paper):
“Oklahoma: Joseph H. Williams Tallgrass Prairie Preserve.” The Nature Conservancy. Accessed November 17, 2016. http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/oklahoma/placesweprotect/tallgrass-prairie-preserve.xml.
Author-Date
In-text Citation:
Because we don't know the date the page was created or modified, we use the date of access in the citation.
The Nature Conservancy uses the "patch-burn" technique to manage the rangeland on the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve (Nature Conservancy 2016).
Bibliography:
We then make it clear in the bibliography that "2016" is the date of access.
Nature Conservancy. “Oklahoma: Joseph H. Williams Tallgrass Prairie Preserve.” Accessed November 17, 2016. http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/oklahoma/placesweprotect/tallgrass-prairie-preserve.xml.
