LEO: Art: Articles

Databases

Databases allow you to search within a vast number of publications to find journal articles and other sources, including books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Because these databases are only accessible via subscription, you will find articles and other materials that you could not find using a simple Google search. To see a list of all databases, click on Databases in the light green ribbon at the top of the screen.

The following are databases particularly relevant to Art students:

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database covering many areas of academic study, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR
Offers archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Please note that USAO only subscribes to JSTOR I, II, III, and VII.

Academic Journals

Because you are studying art in an interdisciplinary liberal arts context, there are many different journals on different subjects that could contain articles relevant to your research topic. This is a short list of journals that focus on visual arts, though there are many more.

To find more journals on a subject, click Journals at the top of this page; then, in the "Browse by Discipline" box, click the subject you want to study.

American Art Journal
This journal, which is available through USAO's JSTOR subscription, has a "moving wall" of 5 years. This means that the most recent issue available in JSTOR is 5 years behind the most recently published issue of the journal.
Art Bulletin
Art Education
Art History
Art Journal
Oxford Art Journal
This journal, which is available through USAO's JSTOR subscription, has a "moving wall" of 7 years. This means that the most recent issue available in JSTOR is 7 years behind the most recently published issue of the journal.

Interlibrary Loan

Databases include records for thousands of articles, including ones to which Nash Library does not have access. However, you can get these articles through interlibrary loan.

When you find an article you like, look for an interlibrary loan link. It will take you to the Nash Library Interlibrary Loan Form, which you can then fill out and submit. Nash Library will contact a library which has access to the journal, and that library will send Nash a copy.