LEO: Education and Children's Books: Academic and Children's Articles

Finding Academic Articles

This page includes databases and sources for two kinds of articles.

1. Scholarly articles: For some assignments, you may be asked to use academic journal articles or other peer-reviewed material. These articles are written by scholars, and each is reviewed by other scholars before it is published to ensure it meets academic standards for the field.

2. Articles for Children: These articles are from magazines that are written especially for children. They cover many educational topics and are written at a variety of reading levels. The full-text articles in USAO's databases for children's magazines have been assigned Lexiles reading level indicators.

Many journals are published online, and most of Nash Library's journal collections are online only. You may find articles by browsing through specific journal titles or by searching through many journals at once using a database.

If you are connected to the internet on-campus, you are already logged in to all of Nash Library's online databases and journals. If you are off-campus, you will have to log in using your USAO credentials.

How to find education articles in ERIC (free version)

This video explains how to do education research using the free version of Education Resource Information Center (ERIC), which is maintained by the U.S. Department of Education. You can find more how-to videos on ERIC's Youtube Channel.

Databases for Academic Articles

Databases allow you to search within a vast number of publications to find journal articles and other sources, including books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Because these databases are only accessible via subscription, you will find articles and other materials that you could not find using a simple Google search. To see a list of all databases, click on Databases in the light green ribbon at the top of the screen.

The following are databases particularly relevant to education:

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) - EBSCO version
Provides access to education literature and resources. This subscription database contains more than 1,300,000 records with full text for many of them.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)-- U. S. Government site
Provides access to education literature and resources. It include fewer full-text documents than the EBSCO version.
Education Source
Contains scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and educational specialties, like multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It has abstracts for thousands of journals and includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, and numerous education-related conference papers.
Explora: Educator's Edition
This is a database that is available at all public and school libraries in Oklahoma. Teachers can search it to find education materials.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Academic Journals

This is a short list of academic journals (#1 in the top box).

When you click on a title, you will be taken to its entry on the A-to-Z journal title list. Some journals can be found in multiple databases, and the different databases may have different years of coverage. Click on a database name to go to the journal in that database.

To find more journals on a subject, click Journals at the top of this page; then, in the "Browse by Discipline" box, click the subject you want to study.

Databases for Children's Magazines

These databases contain articles for children (#2 in the top box).

MAS Complete
Designed for high school students, this database contains full text for 570 popular high school magazines and nearly 420 reference books. In addition, it offers tens of thousands of biographies, thousands of primary source documents and a vast image collection.
Middle Search Plus
Contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. It also contains primary source documents, reference books, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search
Contains full text for more than 80 popular, elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps, and flags.

Interlibrary Loan

Databases include records for thousands of articles, including ones to which Nash Library does not have access. However, you can get these articles through interlibrary loan.

When you find an article you like, look for an interlibrary loan link. It will take you to the Nash Library Interlibrary Loan Form, which you can then fill out and submit. Nash Library will contact a library which has access to the journal, and that library will send Nash a copy.